Guest post – Cleo Zia review

“Hi there! I’m Samantha from http://www.thecurveshaveit.blogspot.com. I’m thrilled to say this is my first guest post and I’ve traded places with Hannah for a day to review my favorite bra, the Cleo Zia. I’m an American girl with a big dream of becoming a full-figure lingerie designer. I plan to move to England next year to attend school in Leicester to learn about designing and creating lingerie and swimsuits. To learn more about me and my journey pop on over to my blog! Now, on to the review!
I love Cleo. It’s my favorite brand. Panache does some amazing things with their Cleo line and the Zia is, in my humble opinion, their crowning work.

I bought a Zia online in a 32J, even though technically I’m a 34HH (blogger on a budget!) and sewed on an extender. I also bought the briefs in a size 14, which I worried would be snug but ended up being a great fit. The shape of the Cleo is perfect for me. Its wires are super narrow, with a width of only 18 centimeters (7 inches) and a wire-length of 34 centimeters (13.5 inches) is enough to fully encompass without stabbing me in the arms. The gore is narrow and the bra pushes the breast tissue to the front giving an uplifted and all-in-front look, which is Cleo’s signature look.

20130716-160158.jpg

The cup fabric is strong and solid without stretch. It’s black with white, gray and yellow polka dots which are utterly cute and flirty, and the top of the cup is made of black mesh with white flower embroidery. It doesn’t have too much room at the top, like the Marcie did on me, nor does it cut in and give the dreaded quad-boob. It does have a sweetheart neckline which gives a little grace in lower shirts.

Since the Zia is part of Cleo’s winter line the wings are of a thicker fabric than what is on their summer line. They use a double layer of breathable, four-way stretch fabric on the wings which I think gives more support than the single layer mesh they use on the spring/summer bras. (If you like a breathable band I’d recommend buying out of Cleo’s spring/summer lines but if you want more support I would recommend going with an autumn/winter bra.) The bra only has 2 hook and eyes and I really wish it had three, but it doesn’t feel like it lessens the support and the band stays low enough to not be an issue.

The straps are 2 centimeters (almost an inch) across, fully adjustable, and are made of the textured elastic seen on many Cleo bras. It also has tiny scallops on each side made of a thick, embroidery-style thread and between the texture of the straps and the scallops the length stays put and I find I only have to adjust the straps after every few wears, rather than every time (or all day long!) They are also lined with a soft fleece-like fabric on the inside of the straps and on all the elastic edges and wires, making this bra super comfy.

The bra has adorable features like a yellow bow and a tiny flower charm between the cups, which are also on the front of the briefs.

20130716-160321.jpg

The briefs have the same polka dot fabric on the front and the back is made of the same fabric that the wings of the bra are – which is not quite see-through. They also have a little bit of scalloped trim on the front at the legs, which I love. I don’t usually buy the briefs to go along with the bras I buy, but these have spoiled me and now I wish I had briefs to match all my bras.
Honestly, this would be the place where I would voice my complaints or concerns about a bra but I don’t have any! I love this bra and it’s definitely secured its place as the favorite in my collection.

Thanks for letting me share my favorite bra with you and I hope to see you again!

Have a great one!

Samantha”

Leave a Reply

